40 Days of Prayer: Week One

On Saturday 2/4, we kicked off 40 Days of Prayer , an event on our campus hosted by University Lutheran Chapel (home to Common Cup) and PrayUM. For the next few weeks, people and students from different ministries in our community go to the prayer room to pray for things happening in our world, nation, and campus. Below are our daily posts from our Facebook group about specific things to be praying for and some resources on prayer!


DAY 1 [Ruth Wang]

“Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” – Philippians 4:4-7

Check out this short IV article on why we pray and some practical tips on how we can pray!

http://intervarsity.org/features/praying-constantly-5-tips-prayer


DAY 2 [Ruth Wang]

“On my bed I remember you; I think of you through the watches of the night. Because you are my help, I sing in the shadow of your wings. I cling to you; your right hand upholds me.” – Psalm 63:6-8

Over our summer break, I read a book called Kneeling with Giants (highly recommend!), which walks through 10 different traditions of prayer. A few weekends ago at MAC we were led through one of the practices mentioned in the book, the Examen (more about the process in the link). Quote from the book:

Before going to bed each night, prayerfully consider what the ‘consolations’ and ‘desolations’ of the day have been–the things that have helped you love God more and the things that have made God’s grace seem far off.”

Because an emotional check-in is integral to this practice, attached is also an emotions wheel that can be really helpful for pinpointing exactly how you’re feeling and why.

http://www.ignatianspirituality.com/ignatian-prayer/the-examen/how-can-i-pray


DAY 3 [Ruth Wang]

“I know that you can do all things; no purpose of yours can be thwarted.” – Job‬ ‭42:2‬

With the messages shared by Abdu Murray and Dr. Ravi Zacharias (listen to the recording if you weren’t able to attend/live stream!), wanted to share a verse from one of the Biblical figures who helps me and so many others as we wrestle with doubt and big questions, especially in trying times. This quote from Job comes at the end of the book, after Job has mourned his losses and bemoaned his state, after his friends have offered their godly advice over and over again, after God has revealed Himself in word and deed. God is sovereign. He is the Creator of the heavens, of this earth, of all of us-He gives us meaning and purpose in His will and purposes, His intentional design. There’s a lot going on on campus, in our nation, in this world. Remember He who gives you and the person next to you and the person halfway around the world value.

As we go through the rest of these forty days, here’s a playlist (collaborative, so please add to it!) of songs that have been helpful in guiding me into a posture of prayer recently. You’ll see that some of the songs are in different languages-feel free to ask me about them (:

https://open.spotify.com/user/fruitpotpourri23/playlist/314kQDHTiS7Jv9DLFUYm4Z


DAY 4 [Ruth Wang]

“Hear me, Lord, my plea is just; listen to my cry. […] I call on You, my God, for You will answer me; turn Your ear to me and hear my prayer.” – Psalm 17:1a, 6

Read also: John 17 (Jesus praying)

Today, please be praying for black, Jewish, and Muslim students on campus. Pray for your friends and classmates and neighbors and even the strangers with whom you may never cross paths. Pray for those who are afraid, anxious, angry. Pray for those behind these despicable actions, for the police looking to put them to justice, and for our school’s administration as it addresses these situations as well as the greater issues that underlie. If any of you is feeling fearful or confused or just overwhelmed, please reach out so we can support one another in prayer even as we pray for others.

This song was written for the persecuted church, but I think it is a valid prayer for us in this time as well: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vAvhIjLoztk. Would we pray for all made in the image of God, for the Lord wants us all to be His children through Jesus, to be brothers and sisters by adoption through His blood. May we not turn our eyes or scroll away because that is the easy thing to do. We lift up our hands and eyes to heaven as we face the depths and despair of human sinfulness, just as Jesus did in the Garden of Gethsemane.

For anyone who needs an update on what’s been happening on campus:

https://www.michigandaily.com/section/crime/racist-emails-sent-university-engineering-computer-science-students

https://www.michigandaily.com/section/crime/prayer-rug-shapiro-reflection-room-defiled


DAY 5 [Ruth Wang]

Therefore, brothers and sisters, since we have confidence to enter the Most Holy Place by the blood of Jesus, by a new and living way opened for us through the curtain, that is, his body,  and since we have a great priest over the house of God, let us draw near to God with a sincere heart and with the full assurance that faith brings, having our hearts sprinkled to cleanse us from a guilty conscience and having our bodies washed with pure water. Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful. And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds, not giving up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but encouraging one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.” – Hebrews 10:19-25

A brief devotional video based on John 15 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XuIgESOTRbw&. Enjoy 🙂


DAY 6 [Ruth Wang]

“If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge,and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.

But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.”- 1 Corinthians 13

We’ll be hearing about spiritual gifts and the power of the Holy Spirit tonight at Large Group. Let’s prepare our hearts and begin thinking about what it means to seek and have love first and foremost.


Day 7 [Ruth Wang]

“Out of the depths I cry to you, Lord; Lord, hear my voice. Let your ears be attentive to my cry for mercy. If you, Lord, kept a record of sins, Lord, who could stand? But with you there is forgiveness, so that we can, with reverence, serve you.

I wait for the Lord, my whole being waits, and in his word I put my hope. I wait for the Lord more than watchmen wait for the morning, more than watchmen wait for the morning. Israel, put your hope in the Lord, for with the Lord is unfailing love and with him is full redemption. He himself will redeem Israel from all their sins.” – ‭‭Psalm‬ ‭130:1-8‬

Liturgical and other written prayers, even reading the Psalms as prayers, can help us with words that we cannot formulate. Read more here: https://collegiateministries.intervarsity.org/blog/written-prayers-reflection.

Posted in: Uncategorized